Crochet Love

  
As soon as I finished gushing about gorgeous crochet in my last post, the Splendid Sampler folks released Block 11, Crocheted Thoughts by Alyssa Thomas of Penguin and Fish, made to honor her grandmother who loved to crochet doilies. My grandma crocheted too and I fondly remember long quiet summer afternoons spent reading a book while Grandma Jean worked on her latest project. 

  

And when I showed all the crochet yumminess to my mom and explained that it was mostly granny squares? Yeah, she got all excited and started crocheting granny squares from her collection of soft fuzzy scarf yarns. 

  
I started an embroidery piece on felted wool inspired by the crochet deliciousness. 

  
And I got back to work on my current crochet project, this soft drapey color block shawl. 

(Despite wanting something simple and color-blocky when I started this, now I’m thinking how pretty it would look with some embroidered flowers. I have trouble stopping my brain sometimes.)

  
But really, is it any surprise that I broke down and bought a bunch of yarn to crochet my very own medallion blanket?

This entry was posted in creativity, Crochet, embroidery, family, inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crochet Love

  1. Melissa says:

    I love your block! I don’t like mine that much, but I’m not doing it over.

Comment