Progress Report

First, I’m so excited to announce that I’m now a contributor on my cousin Karen’s blog Shiny Objects! Karen has an amazing and powerful voice and I’m just honored to be a part of what she is creating. You can read my first post here

  
On the health front, I’m very s-l-o-w-l-y recovering from chemotherapy. Even two months ago after my first two treatments, I would have told you the pain and fatigue I’m feeling today was pretty bad. But today, three weeks out from the final two treatments? Today I’m all “hey I can walk to the kitchen without collapsing in a chair to catch my breath and wait for the pain to subside! Praise the Lord and pass the steroids!” Today I understand the true meaning of “cumulative fatigue” and “debilitating muscle pain.”  Hopefully I’ve turned the corner on that part of the journey and now I can focus on finishing radiation and healing my body. 

  
Remember a few weeks ago when I was contemplating how crazy it would be to start a 100 block quilt-a-long?

  
Well call me crazy! The 7th block of The Splendid Sampler was released today and I have completed the first 6 blocks. 

  
It’s become a bit of a ritual with mom asking me if I have any quilt blocks to make as a way to get me out of bed and moving around.

  
My quilting skills are rusty and my blocks are a little wonky and I don’t care. I’m not making a masterpiece here. I’m making this because I love to play with the brightly colored fabrics and because the making is healing me. 

  
I know that as I move forward it will become easier to make these blocks as I regain physical strength. It will also become harder to make these blocks as I regain my busy life. With any luck, a year from now I’ll have a healthy body and 100 quilt blocks. 

This entry was posted in Breast cancer, Chemotherapy, color, creativity, Healing, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Progress Report

  1. pamhogeweide says:

    Love the colors of your quilt blocks. So glad you have strength to sew and create during your treatments. Your creative spirit is shining bright!

  2. Melissa says:

    Nik, it’s so good to see you creating! I’m glad to hear that you are progressing little by little in the chemo recovery–you are never far in my thoughts and prayers, even when I’m not sure what to say. Just know you are there!

    BTW, you are the one that made me want to do this silly project! I fully blame you 🙂 I finally started mine today.

    • Thank you for your thoughts and prayers Mel. Cancer is hard to talk about, but support from my friends is priceless. And it makes me so happy to know I made you start the sampler quilt! LOL! Your colors are so pretty!

  3. Pingback: Inspiration: breaking it down | nikkidaisyblog

Comment

