The 100 Days Project

20150416-125000.jpg

So I joined the 100 Days Project. “It’s a celebration of process that encourages everyone to participate in 100 days of making. The great surrender is the process; showing up day after day is the goal.”

I’ve written before about how make-x-every-day challenges are not something I’m much good at. Back then I said, “I have a limited amount of creative time and energy each day and the commitment to make something extra every day just doesn’t work well for me.”

But I also said this, “once I get into the momentum of making, the ideas start to flow and it’s easier to keep making.”

In the almost 2 years since I wrote that post, I’ve tinkered a lot with the concepts of habits and practice. I learned this. I decided that I needed to add more energy to my days since more time is not in the cards right now so I’ve experimented with a lot of new habits to increase my energy level. I figured out how much I can accomplish if I work at something steadily in small increments.

20150416-130909.jpg

I learned that skipping your new habit for a day (or a week) is not a good excuse to give up. I also learned that recording your habit progress has to become a habit of its own. Some of those blank spots on my habit tracker are days when I didn’t make time to color in the dot and couldn’t remember later whether I did any drawing or not.

20150416-131329.jpg

So yeah, I made a commitment to paint and stitch a 3 inch collage square every day for 100 days and post a picture on Instagram. Because I’ve always wanted to make a patchwork-y piece with lots of different colorful little blocks. Because it’s a good way to strengthen my habit muscles. Because once I get into the momentum of making, the ideas start to flow and it’s easier to keep making. And more than anything, I want to keep making.

This entry was posted in collage, color, creativity, drawing, embroidery, habits, painting, pattern, practice, stitched collage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 100 Days Project

  1. I like this new direction, going back to your fiber roots and incorporating stitch.

Comment

