Stitched collage: Folk Art Album

20150102-091357.jpg
Folk Art Album. 27″ x 24″

I was so happy to finish this project before 2014 ended. I got the idea and started this back in August. I’ve worked on other things in the meantime, but this project has been a touchstone for me, the driving force behind most of the art I’m working on right now.

20150102-092439.jpg.

I figured out this stitched collage technique several years ago and made a bunch of these little dresses. I love making stitched collages – they bring together my favorite paper mixed media techniques with the quilting and embroidery that I love. But I had trouble moving the technique beyond dresses.

And then last summer I saw this quilt on my Instagram feed and everything clicked. I’ve always loved folk art quilts but if I was going to make the time commitment to make one, I wanted to put my own twist on it. Finally figuring out that I could make a folk art quilt with stitched collage unlocked a door in my mind and I’ve been bubbling over with collage ideas ever since.

20150102-094109.jpg

I just love the way the folk art elements fit together with the vintage look of the collage and paint and surface design.

It’s also been really great to have a big ongoing project again. That’s one of the things I’ve really missed from my quilting days. Best of all, I already know what my next big project will be and I’m starting it this weekend!

This entry was posted in collage, color, creativity, embroidery, mixed media, painting, pattern, stitched collage. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stitched collage: Folk Art Album

  1. Laurie says:

    All those neat stitches and patched pieces send a message to the viewer that all is well with the world. 🙂

  2. Kate Robertson says:

    This is lovely, stitched collage is new to me. I like what you have done. Thanks for linking on my post.

  3. Stephanie Christenson says:

    I LOVE your quilt!! I mean really LOVE it! Your work is besutiful. I found I immediately wanted to figure out how you did this. Do you have any online training for how you did it or even an explanation? I hope you make more!!

    • Nikki says:

      Thank you so much Stephanie! I don’t currently have anything online about my technique, but I plan to blog about it in the coming months. And I am already making more!

  4. gemma says:

    Love stitching on paper. Both with the machine and by hand. Very Nice!

  5. Clare says:

    Lovely idea to mix quilting style with paper! The stitching looks so neat and I love the papers you’ve used.

Comment

