Mending

Oh hello heartache. Funny how you show up when I least expect you. But you’ve been around enough times now that I’m getting better at coping with you.

20140126-113128.jpg

I know that going to extremes with shadow comforts will only make me feel worse. So no drinking or crazy shopping trips. I laid in moderate provisions. A coke and a fancy chocolate bar yes, a whole cheesecake no. A magazine, some library books, a few new bottles of paint. Lots of fresh fruit? Yes please. A trip to the high school track to run further and faster than I ever have before? Sign me up.

20140126-113725.jpg
The most extreme thing I’ve done this time around is buy a needlepoint kit with a coupon at Joanns. Yes, I know buying a needlepoint kit is a little bit crazy. But I wanted something big and complicated that I could work on without putting much thought in. I’ve learned from past experience that mindless handwork can be the best medicine. So I’m over here stitching away. Mending.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mending

  1. Sorry about the heartache, but it sounds like you are handling it well. The needlepoint kit actually sounds kind of fun. I found an old latch hook kit in Amy’s room that I may tackle, but for comfort right now I’m knitting dishrags.

Comment

