Prayer flag experiment

20130824-170204.jpg

I’ve been wanting to make prayer flags from my hand dyed and painted fabrics for a while now and today I jumped in. I love the sturdy hand of the canvas and it takes dye beautifully. I tried finishing the edges but the canvas was too thick. Which is fine because the unfinished edge gives it more of an impermanent prayer flag vibe anyway. I’m less happy with the writing. I used ink with a paintbrush but didn’t really get the look I wanted. I may have to go back to my trusty paint markers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prayer flag experiment

  1. Meegan says:

    This turned out gorgeous. I’ve been thinking of making prayer flags for our backyard but haven’t got around to it. I think it would be a great project with my kids. I hadn’t thought of using canvas but it seems like a great choice to handle the weather.

Comment

