Index Card a Day

IMAGE_8F64F61D-AEF0-4AEB-B8B9-B2814D7BEF3A

I generally suck at all those yummy “Make X Every Day” challenges. I love the idea and I love to look at the results, but I have a limited amount of creative time and energy each day and the commitment to make something extra every day just doesn’t work well for me.

Image

So what the heck am I doing making index card art every day?! Well, it’s cheap, it’s fun, it’s fast and it’s a great excuse to mess around with things I want to get better at like gelli printing and doodling.

Image

There is so little investment in a tiny little cheap index card that I have zero inhibitions about screwing it up. And zero inhibitions = way more art made by me. Once I get into the momentum of making, the ideas start to flow and it’s easier to keep making. These little cards are like a key that turns on the creative engine.

Image

Plus, it’s super fun to look at everyone else’s cards at #icad on Instagram. Do you Instagram? It’s my current eye candy delivery mode of choice. Please let me know your instagram name if you have one – I’m looking for more folks to follow. I’m @nicolabeverage.

Image

Here’s a link to all the details about the current index card a day challenge: . Now I gotta go make today’s card!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Index Card a Day

  1. Annemarie says:

    I feel the same way about committing to XaDay activities, but this seems do-able. Hope you stick with it.

  2. Dianne says:

    your cards turned out great! and a terrific post about “x per day” challenges, inspiration, and going for it…I bet you’re glad you did. these turned out beautifully!

  3. I like that they are small; as well… leaves time for other things, but a fun way to start my day in the studio… looking forward to seeing more of your cards…xx

  4. Love your cards. I love the freedom that comes from working on index cards. A good way to test out ideas and practice. 🙂

Comment

