Practicing

image

I love doodles but I’m not a natural doodler. I never doodled on my class notes or my PeeChee folder.  I don’t doodle on my agenda in meetings. I have to think about doodling. Weird, I know. But I love doodles and I want to make them, so I’m practicing.

I’m especially inspired by the doodles of Pam Garrison and Alisa Burke.  Lucky me, Alisa Burke teaches wonderful online classes that are helping me figure out the doodling that doesn’t come naturally.

I’m learning that even when I make a mistake or draw something crappy it looks better if I fill the page and add details.

image

So I’m practicing filling the page and adding details.

I’m also practicing being brave about my art. A few weeks ago I was offered the opportunity to show my work to a gallery to see if they liked it. Terrifying. I don’t even like calling people on the phone, never mind all the fears about putting my art out for people to love or hate. And really, I don’t feel like I’m ready to be in a gallery. But I’m also practicing going with the flow and taking opportunities when they are offered. So I made an appointment.  And then I felt like I was going to throw up. But I went to the appointment and it went well.

They don’t have room for my work right now but they want me to teach! Which is what I really want to do right now! I’m ready to teach, far more than I’m ready to exhibit. Teaching is on my map for this year. And now I have an opportunity because I practiced being brave.

And honestly, I’m just so happy with myself for making that appointment.  Because hard, scary things get easier with practice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Practicing

  1. Congrats Nikki on the teaching gig and the gallery interview! That’s awesome!

Comment

