Smile, it’s more fun.

image

Saturday as I was waiting in traffic at a very busy intersection, I noticed a man standing on the corner. He was kinda scruffy looking and he had a handmade cardboard sign. And his sign said “Smile! it’s more fun!” It sure made me smile.

I got all caught up last week in the excitement of the new year and the new blog and all the classes and books and ideas and goals and before I knew it I had slipped into an overwhelm whirlpool. A whirlpool that had me spinning in place, unable to settle into actually doing anything. But here’s the thing, the universe almost immediately started sending me messages to stop, relax, focus on doing my own thing, enjoy. Smile, it’s more fun. So I’m treading a little more lightly, trying to find the sweet spot between moving forward and moving too fast.

image

Speaking of moving forward, it’s about time I showed some art around here. I finished this piece last weekend. I’ve been wanting to make something like this for a long time and I finally overcame my fear of screwing it up and actually made it. This one is paint and collage on a canvas. I want to try something similar in fabric.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Smile, it’s more fun.

  1. Karen says:

    Oh man….my sentiments exactly! Beautiful piece

  2. Judy says:

    This is beautiful!

  3. Sheila says:

    “Persevere” rose to the top when I started thinking of a resolution word for the year. Some experiences in 2012 showed me that even the toughest things can be gotten through and silver linings found if I just persevered. There may be more rough road ahead and it’s awfully easy just to give up, so I think this word will serve me well.

    Love the collage!

  4. Sheila says:

    Oops- just noticed I shared my resolution word on the wrong post… See? I need to persevere!

  5. I really like this, both the colors and design. And love your new blog!!

  6. Linda Cross says:

    I’m really liking this piece. Different from what I have seen from you before. Very very nice,

Comment

