one little word: give

image

Give is the word that has chosen me for 2013. I started picking a word for the year a few years back, inspired by Ali Edwards (I sat next to Ali in an Artfest class several years ago; I had no idea she was a famous scrapbooker, I just thought she was hilarious!). I’ve never been much good at keeping resolutions, but I do feel a desire for renewed effort every year at this time. I’ve found that choosing a word for the year is much more effective for me. Rather than tie me up with rules and obligations that make me feel itchy, a simple word gives me an intention, an attitude, a framework to guide me. A reminder of how I want to live my life.

My word for 2012 was Release. It was an awesome word and I will continue to carry its lessons. I released a lot of emotional baggage and a lot of hangups that were keeping me from having some wholehearted fun. I was surprised to find that release is also an amazing tool for bringing calm and quiet to my brain in times of stress and worry. I’ve learned to name my issue (whatever bit of negativity I’m obsessing on), take a deep breath and say “I release you.” Very powerful!

So I’d been trying to figure out my 2013 word (and even considering choosing release again) when I stumbled upon this link that I had posted to my Facebook page last spring. 15 Things You Should Give Up In Order To Be Happy. And as I read through the list again, the word “give” kept ringing in my head like a bell. And then my brain started to rebel. “Oh no, not give, that’s going to be too challenging and hard!” Of course such resistance from the monkey mind only confirmed that give was the right word.

So give it is. Because there are things I want to do, things like teaching and blogging and sharing my art. But I’ve been playing it safe, because if I don’t give of myself, if I don’t share my heart, I can’t fail. And safe is lovely, but it’s not enough, it’s not satisfying. I’ve got a lot of gifts to share and it’s time I started giving them to more than just my cats.

Deep breath. Holy crap. Here’s to 2013!

P.S. I’ve signed up for Ali’s One Little Word 2013 class to help me stay focused.

Do you have a word for 2013?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to one little word: give

  1. aack! my links aren’t working and I’m out of time. I will fix them tomorrow!

  2. OK, nevermind, I fixed them. 🙂

  3. Mariel Crook says:

    Am liking your new blog! When I figure out my ‘word’, I’ll share. “Good on ya Nikki”!!!

  4. Natasha says:

    I love that know why?? Because You have SOOO Much to give!!! SOOO much YAY!! What an exciting adventure this will be!!! Yes give …my words – why must there be two?? They just insisted on it lol are focus and commit…and at first I was like – they aren’t sparkly enough but they’ve grown on me and I actually think they are quite exciting now so we will see what happens. Here’s to 2013

Comment

